Energy Voice | Former energy minister appointed OGA chairman

A former UK Energy minister has been appointed as the new chairman of the North Sea industry regulator.

Tim Eggar will take up his position on March 11 with the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA), replacing Frances Morris-Jones who will complete her term as interim chairwoman at the end of the month.

He will receive part-time pay at the rate of £200,000 per annum pro rata.

Mr Eggar was a member of parliament for almost 20 years and acted as the UK government’s energy minister between 1992 and 1996.

He has held numerous roles within the industry since leaving Westminster.

In 1998 he was appointed as CEO of Monument Oil and Gas, and was later the chairman of energy services firm Cape and Indago Petroleum.

He is currently chairman of MyCelx Technologies, a clean-water technology company for the energy sector.

Frances Morris Jones stood in as interim chairwoman in April last year following the retirement of Sir Patrick Brown.

Sir Patrick held the role for three years , helping establish the OGA.

Francis Morris-Jones will return to her previous role as non-executive director.

Andy Samuel, chief executive of the OGA said: “We welcome Tim as our new Chairman and I very much look forward to his start with us in Aberdeen next week as we continue our close work with industry and government to deliver the significant value outlined in Vision 2035.

“I would like to thank our interim chair Frances Morris-Jones for her support and dedication over the past year.

“Frances will resume her previous role on the OGA board as a non-executive director.”

Source link

Craigmill, Pitcaple, Inverurie, Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom, AB51 5HP
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram